Minor Says It’s Rotation or Bust

According to a report by AJC blogger David O’Brien, Mike Minor has stated that if he is not given the fifth spot in the Braves rotation, he wants out of Atlanta.

“I feel like I proved myself,” he said. “I was in Triple-A all last year pretty much. The year before I had some time [in the majors]. I’m getting older every year, so there’s no reason for me to be sitting in Triple-A.”

Minor explained further:

“Overall, it’s not really – it’s about making the team, but if … I can control my third pitch and have a decent fourth pitch, then there’s no reason I shouldn’t pitch in the big leagues somewhere. If they don’t have room for me here, then there’s no reason they shouldn’t trade me. Just do something with me.”

This pitching staff is loaded with young talent, including top prospects Julio Teheran and Randall Delgado and bulldog Kris Medlen, all of whom have an outside shot of securing that final spot in the rotation (early reports have Medlen in the pen, although he will be making starts in spring training). Although Fredi has admitted that Minor is “the incumbent,” for the job, I can’t help but feel his attitude is an unwanted clubhouse presence. The Braves have no shortage of starting pitching, and no reason to yield to the demands of a young pitcher who has done good but not great in the chances he’s been given.

Atlanta Braves

Minor has shown flashes of brilliance, but is he a potential clubhouse problem?

Let's Talk Chop:

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.